Property Tax Payment

If your Palm Beach County property taxes are escrowed and paid by your mortgage company, our office expects to receive those payments by November 30, 2022, and will post them to your account as soon as possible.  Please allow our office 3-5 business days to process those payments before you contact our office to verify payment.  Should you have questions about those payments, please contact your mortgage lender directly for payment status.

We greatly appreciate your patience as our staff works diligently to post payments as quickly as possible.

Website Banner with Palm Beach County Seal and Photo of Anne Gannon

Driver License Services

Select your Service Below

Driver License
ID Card
Driver License Renewal
Lost/Stolen Driver License
Class E Knowledge Exam
Road Test
Update Driver License
Commercial Driver License

Driver License

Your driver license or state ID card is valid for six or eight years depending on your age. People aged 79 and under, driver licenses/state ID cards are valid for eight years. People aged 80 and older, driver licenses/state ID cards are valid for six years.

Requirements:

U.S. Citizens

Non-U.S. Citizens

Learner’s License

  • Must be at least 15 years old;
  • If under 18 years old, must have a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form (step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child);
  • Proof of Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course completion;
  • Pass a vision and hearing test – testing is conducted in a service center;
  • Pass Class E Knowledge Exam;
  • Prepare for the exam by studying the Official Florida Driver License Handbook
  • Testing options
  • The exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions about traffic laws and traffic signs. The passing score is 80 percent or 40 out of 50 questions; and

Must provide documents needed to establish proof of identity, proof of social security number and proof of residential address. Please visit flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring for a list of acceptable document

 

ID Card

Your state ID card is valid for six or eight years depending on your age. People aged 79 and under, state ID cards are valid for eight years. People aged 80 and older, state ID cards are valid for six years.

Requirements:

U.S. Citizens

Non-U.S. Citizens

 

 

 

Driver License Renewal

Renew online?

Did you know you can renew, replace or update your driver license online if:

  • You have not previously used the one-time online convenience renewal
  • Your driver license or ID card is REAL ID compliant
  • You do not have a stop, hold or other violation on your driver license

 

Renew in Person?

You must make an appointment if:

  • Your driver license or ID card is not REAL ID compliant
  • You have a stop, hold or violation on your driver license
  • You are getting your first Florida driver license.  For information about getting your first Florida driver license, including required documentation, visit Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV).
  • You already used your one-time online renewal
  • You changed your name
  • You let your driver license expire. Drivers who have allowed their driver license to expire for one year or more are required to complete the written and vision exams prior to obtaining their driver license.
  • You want to update your photo
  • You hold a Commercial Driver License (CDL)
  • You want to add or remove a designation
  • Your driver license has the word “Temporary” on it

Lost/Stolen Driver License

Lost: If you are REAL ID compliant, replacing or updating your license or ID card can be completed online. If you are not REAL ID compliant, you must visit a service center with the required documents.

Stolen: The fee will be waived for a stolen driver license or state ID card if a police report has been filed. Please bring a copy of the report, case number printed on a business card or official document from the law enforcement agency.

Class E Knowledge Exam

To obtain a learner’s license, customers must pass the Class E Knowledge Exam. The Class E Knowledge Exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions about Florida traffic laws, safe driving practices and identifying traffic controls. To pass, a customer must answer 40 out of 50 questions correctly or score 80 percent.

Class E knowledge examinations are available in Arabic, Chinese, English, Haitian Creole, Russian and Spanish.

For more info visit Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles – Class E Knowledge Exam & Driving Skills Test

 

Road Test

To obtain a Class E driver license, customers must pass the Class E Driving Skills Test which consists of a series of maneuvers, listed below, used to determine an applicant’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. To qualify for a driver license, customers must hold their learner’s license for one year (12 months) from the issuance date or must be 18 years old.

For more info visit Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles – Class E Knowledge Exam & Driving Skills Test

Driver License Update

Update Name: Name changes must first be made with the Federal Social Security Administration in order to have your name updated on a Florida driver’s license or ID card.  All name changes must be completed in person by appointment.

Update Address:  Address changes can be completed online via MyDMV Portal or also in person by appointment.

 

Commercial Driver License

All applicants for a Commercial Driver License are required to have an Operator’s License, pass the vision requirements, and pass knowledge and skills tests. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age. If they are under 21, they will be restricted to intrastate operation only. 

Class A Requirements – To operate trucks or truck combinations weighing 26,001 lbs or more, and towing a vehicle/unit over 10,000 lbs, a Class A license is required. The following tests are required:

  • Knowledge Tests
  • General Knowledge Test
  • Combination Vehicles Test
  • Air Brakes Test (if applicable, most Class A vehicles are equipped with Air Brakes but not all)
  • Applicable exams for desired endorsements
  • Skills Tests
  • Pre-trip Vehicle Inspection
  • Basic Vehicle Control
  • On-road Test

 Class B Requirements – To operate straight trucks and buses 26,001 lbs or more, a Class B license is required. The following tests are required:

  • Knowledge Tests
  • General Knowledge Test
  • Air Brakes Test (if applicable)
  • Applicable exams for desired endorsements
  • Skills Tests
  • Pre-trip Vehicle Inspection
  • Basic Vehicle Control
  • On-road Test

Class C Requirements – To operate vehicles transporting placarded amounts of hazardous materials, or vehicles designed to transport 16 or more people including the driver, with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of less than 26,001 lbs, a Class C license is required. The following tests are required:

  • Knowledge Tests
  • General Knowledge Test
  • Air Brakes Test (if applicable)
  • Applicable exams for desired endorsements
  • Skills Tests
  • Pre-trip Vehicle Inspection
  • Basic Vehicle Control
  • On-road Test