Schedule Reservation


Motor Vehicle

Home 9 Motor Vehicle 9 License Plates

License Plates

License plates belong to you, not the vehicle. Plates may be transferred to a replacement vehicle by making a reservation to visit one of our service centers, or by mail. Florida requires license plates be replaced every 10 years. Remember to surrender your valid license plate if it is no longer in use to avoid possible driver license suspension. To surrender your plate, download and complete the Surrender License Plate Affidavit.

Specialty License Plates

Florida offers specialty license plates to raise funds for a variety of causes. Specialty plates can be purchased at any time and cost an annual fee above the standard Florida license plate charge. Fees vary by type of license plate.

For more information about specialty license plates visit FLHSMV Specialty Plates.

Helpful Tip

License plates may be surrendered in person, in a service center drop box or by mail.

Photo of License Plates

Replace a Stolen or Lost License Plate or Decal

Complete and submit form HSMV 83146 Application for Replacement License Plate, Validation Decal or Parking Permit with a copy of the registered owner’s valid driver license. If the decal or license plate was stolen, provide the law enforcement police report or agency card with the case number and a replacement will be issued at no fee. The fee for a replacement decal is $34.10 (in person) or $35.00 (by mail). The fee for a replacement license plate is $36.90 (in person) or $42.35 (by mail).