Call Center: 561-355-2264

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Understand the Graduated Driver Licensing Process

Florida requires you to complete a three-step process, called Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL), to obtain your first driver license. This process is designed to help you safety gain driving experience under low-risk conditions before obtaining full driving privileges. These laws outline limits and restrictions for new drivers aged 15 through 17. Florida's GDL laws will help you gradually and safely build your skills and experience - from basic to advanced - in all kinds of road conditions. Teen drivers and their parents or guardians must fully understand and comply with these laws.

For more information about Florida's Graduated Driver Licensing Laws, please visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website.

 

STEP 1: LEARNER'S LICENSE

The first step in the GDL process is obtaining your Learner's License. You must be 15 years old and obey all Florida GDL laws including:

  • Must always have a licensed driver 21 years old or older in the closest seat to the right of the driver
  • For the first three months, driving is limited to daylight hours only
  • After three months, hours are extended to 10 p.m.
  • Log 50 hours of driving experience

Learn more about obtaining your Learner's License.

 

STEP 2: INTERMEDIATE DRIVER LICENSE

At ages 16 and 17, you can obtain your restricted driver license if you have successfully completed the Learner's License process. Driving is restricted to certain hours based on your age.

  • 16 years old - driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
  • 17 years old - driving is allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

At any other time, 16 and 17 year old drivers must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the closest seat next to the driver, or be traveling to or from work.

 

STEP 3: UNRESTRICTED DRIVER LICENSE

At 18 years old, there are no restrictions on driving hours. You can obtain a full unrestricted driver license if you have had no major traffic convictions during the previous 12 months. Such violations include driving under the influence, drag racing, and reckless driving.
 

All content © 2018 Constitutional Tax Collector, Serving Palm Beach County   |   Disclaimer  
301 North Olive Avenue, P O Box 3715, West Palm Beach, FL 33402   |    561-355-2264