Call Center: 561-355-2264

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

County Charter Tool Kit

“…the property tax collection authorized by this chapter (197.603) under 9(a), VII of the State Constitution be free from the influence or the appearance of influence of local governments that levy property taxes and receive property tax revenues.” Fla. Sess. Law Serv. Ch. 2011-151 (SB 478)



Constitutional Office

Elections Power




Article VIII, section 1(d)

COUNTY OFFICERS. There shall be elected by the electors of each county, for terms of four years, a sheriff, a tax collector, a property appraiser, a supervisor of elections, and a clerk of the circuit court; except, when provided by county charter or special law approved by vote of the electors of the county, any county officer may be chosen in another manner therein specified, or any county office may be abolished when all the duties of the office prescribed by general law are transferred to another office. When not otherwise provided by county charter or special law approved by vote of the electors, the clerk of the circuit court shall be ex officio clerk of the board of county commissioners, auditor, recorder and custodian of all county funds.



The Importance of This  Constitutional Office


All content © 2018 Constitutional Tax Collector, Serving Palm Beach County   |   Disclaimer  
301 North Olive Avenue, P O Box 3715, West Palm Beach, FL 33402   |    561-355-2264