1st Time Driver
Get Your Learner's License
You must be at least 15 years old and have parental consent.
Before you come to see us:
- Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. Find course providers here.
- Study the Florida Driver Handbook
- Gather the required documents:
- Bring a parent or guardian to your appointment. They need to sign the Parental Consent Form in the presence of the driver license examiner. If they can't make it, bring a notarized consent form with you.
- Check in at the reception desk. We’ll make sure you have all the required documents.
- Take the Road Rules and Road Signs tests. Test yourself. Take a practice test now.
- You must answer 15 out of 20 correct on each test.
- Take the vision test.
- You must have 20/40 or better vision in each eye, with or without corrective lenses.
- Say 'Cheese!' Once you've passed the test we'll take your picture and issue your license.
When you leave:
- Always drive with a licensed driver who’s at least 21 years old.
- Drive only during daylight hours for the first three months.
- Log 50 hours behind the wheel during the first year (10 of which should be at night). The Florida Drivers Guide for Teens and Parents has safety tips and a driving log to keep track of your hours.